Overcooked! 2 – FAQ

Overcooked! 2 – FAQ

Published:

Hello chefs!

Are you looking for more info on Overcooked! 2? Then you’re in the right place. We’ve compiled this list of frequently asked questions just for you!

When is Overcooked! 2 coming out?
August 7th 2018

Which platforms will Overcooked! 2 be available on?
You’ll be able to play Overcooked! 2 on Steam (PC, Mac, Linux), Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch.

I’ve pre-ordered Overcooked! 2. What time will the game unlock?
The game will unlock at various times, depending on your system of choice and timezone. See below for full details…

STEAM
Tuesday 7th August – 9am PDT/12pm EDT/1pm BRT/5pm BST/ 6pm CEST
Wednesday 8th August – 12am HKT/1am JST

PLAYSTATION 4
Tuesday 7th August – 12am in all territories

XBOX ONE
Monday 6th August – 5pm PDT/8pm EDT/9pm BRT
Tuesday 7th August – 1am BST/2am CEST/8am HKT

NINTENDO SWITCH
Monday 6th August – 11pm BST
Tuesday 7th August – 8am AEST/10am NZT/12am all other territories


What new features will there be in the sequel?
Overcooked! 2 features online multiplayer, as well as brand new dynamic kitchens, new recipes, new chefs, and the ability to throw food across kitchens! (The test of a true 3-Star chef!)

How many recipes will there be?
There are 9 different recipes, each with multiple variations!

How many chefs are in Overcooked! 2?
There are 24 chefs in Overcooked! 2, not including the pre-order bonus chefs.

Will my favourite chef return?
Yes! We’ve brought back some familiar Overcooked faces, including fan-favourite Raccoon Chef!

What exactly are “dynamic kitchens”?
‘Dynamic’ kitchens are kitchens that can change on the fly. Be prepared for changes in environment, kitchen layout, and other interferences as you cook your way through the Onion Kingdom!


How many players does Overcooked! 2 support?
Overcooked! 2 supports up to four players in either local or online play. On Nintendo Switch, we also support wireless multiplayer for up to four players.

With up to three local players sharing a console it is then possible to also play with other players online. When two or three players are in the game locally, online friends can search for and join the game, or other players can join online through matchmaking.

Are there any limitations to online play?
Several configurations of online players are possible but, due to limitations around the online system’s ability to merge parties, the game does not currently support 2+2 online – that’s two players on one console and two on another. This is something we would have liked to have been ready for launch but is a complicated undertaking and, as such, will take much longer to be ready. Please look out for a post-launch update to introduce this feature at a later date.

Can I team up with random players, or do I need to add people to my friends list?
You can use the in-game lobby/matchmaking system to find other players in the Arcade and Versus modes. For the story/campaign mode – you will need to invite players from your friends list to play together.

Will you be patching online multiplayer into the original Overcooked?
Overcooked was designed and built as a local co-op game and therefore the infratstructure for online multiplayer just isn’t there. We have no plans to do this.

Does Overcooked! 2 support in-game chat?
You’ll be able to communicate with team mates via in-game chat on Xbox One and PlayStation 4. Players on Steam and Nintendo Switch will need to use a third-party chat service, such as Steam voice chat, Skype or Discord.

You can join the official Team17 Discord, and meet other Overcooked! players, here: discord.gg/team17

Does Overcooked! 2 have multiple save slots?
Yes, there are three save slots on all platforms.

What resolution will the game play at?
On Nintendo Switch in docked mode, Overcooked! 2 runs at 1080p and in handheld mode it runs at 720p. On PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, the game runs at 1080p. On PC, the game supports up to 4K resolution.

Does the game offer Xbox One X and PS4 Pro enhancements?
We are looking into this for post-release and hope to have more details soon.

Can I pre-order Overcooked! 2?
Yes you can! You can pre-order digitally here:

Steam
Xbox One
PlayStation 4
Nintendo Switch

All pre-orders will receive the ‘Too Many Cooks’ pack for free, which contains five extra chefs to represent you in the kitchen: Walrus, Monkey, Alien, Calico Cat, and Unicorn! Nintendo Switch pre-orders will also receive an exclusive bonus chef: Platypus!

A physical version is also available to pre-order. Please check with your local retailer for pricing, availability and pre-order bonus details.

Is the ‘Too Many Cooks’ pack available to purchase at launch?
Yes! There is no need to worry if you have been unable to pre-order Overcooked! 2, you will be able to purchase the five new chefs from launch!

Why is the Platypus Chef a Nintendo Switch exclusive and will I be able to purchase/download it on other platforms?
The response to Overcooked from Nintendo Switch players has been phenomenal, and we have our dedicated fans all over the world to thank for that!

Nintendo has been a great champion of Overcooked in all regions and worked with us closely on our announcement for Overcooked! 2 at E3 2018 so we thought this would be a great bonus for our passionate Nintendo playerbase.

There are currently no plans to bring the Platypus chef to other platforms.

Are there any plans for DLC?
Yes, we have plans to support Overcooked! 2 post-launch. We’ll have more information on this soon.

What languages will Overcooked! 2 be available in?
We support a wide number of languages, dependant on platform. Please see the chart below for full details.

Steam Xbox One PlayStation 4 Nintendo Switch
ENGLISH Supported Supported Supported Supported
FRENCH Supported Supported Supported Supported
ITALIAN Supported Supported Supported Supported
GERMAN Supported Supported Supported Supported
SPANISH Supported Supported Supported Supported
SIMPLIFIED CHINESE Supported Supported Supported Supported
JAPANESE Supported Not Supported Supported Supported
KOREAN Supported Not Supported Supported Supported
BRAZILIAN PORTUGUESE Supported Not Supported Not Supported Not Supported
POLISH Supported Coming Soon Coming Soon Not Supported
TRADITIONAL CHINESE Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon

Which countries will the game be available in?
If purchasing Overcooked! 2 on Steam, you’ll be able to access the game worldwide. For Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, please see the chart below to see if the digital stores will sell Overcooked! 2 in your country.

Nintendo Switch PlayStation 4 Xbox One
Argentina
Australia
Austria
Bahrain
Belgium
Bolivia
Brazil
Bulgaria
Canada
Chile
Colombia
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Ecuador
El Salvador
Estonia
Finland
France
Germany
Greece
Guatemala
Honduras
Hong Kong TBC
Hungary
Iceland
India
India
Indonesia TBC
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Japan TBC
Korea TBC
Kuwait
Latvia
Lebanon
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malayasia TBC
Malta
Mexico
Netherlands
New Zealand
Nicaragua
Norway
Oman
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Poland
Portugal
Qatar
Romania
Russia
Saudi Arabia
Singapore
Singapore TBC
Slovakia
Slovenia
South Africa
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Taiwan TBC
Thailand TBC
Turkey
Turkey
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom
United States
Uraguay

 

Don’t see your question here? You can talk to us, and other players here:

Overcooked! 2 Steam Discussions
Overcooked on Twitter
Overcooked on Facebook
Team17 Discord
Team17 Twitter
Team17 Facebook

Latest News